Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Welcome To Florence,… Eh,…..

Flo

Well after spending something like $30,000 to hire a firm to find the candidates to offer the job to, the tourism board elected to offer the job to a Canadian,… Eh? Yes I said a Canadian. Someone not familiar with the area. The board snubbed Allison Stanfield who was probably the most qualified in terms of knowing the area, knowing people to contact personally. She knew the job. She speaks Southern English. People she might contact would recognize that. Now,… when Rob Carnegie, of Canada picks up the phone,… it will sounds like,… well a lot less Southern. The Times Faily said Rob Carnegie, of Canada. Is he not a US citizen?

Social media is buzzing about the boards selection,… And rightfully so. The board failed miserably in not only the selection but hiring a firm to suggest candidates. That money could have been saved if they had done a little work themselves. It wasn’t rocket science.

Here are those board members,… Florence city council and Lauderdale County Commission members. Along with their emails. Send them one if you disagree with the way things were handled. But I can assure you, they won’t answer you.  Small town politics,….

FLORENCE-LAUDERDALE TOURISM BOARD MEMBERS

Alex Nelson
County
Sep ’12-’15
anelson@nelsonsg.com

David Abramson
City
Sep ’14-’17
dfabram40@comcast.net

David Muhlendorf
City
Sep ’14-’17
dmuhlendorf@paperandchemical.com

Kelly Kelley
City-County Joint
Sep ’13-’17
Kkelley1437@gmail.com

Kelly Gaputis
County (Chairperson)
Sep ’12-’15
Gaputis@bellsouth.net

 

COUNTY OFFICIALS

Dewey Mitchell
Chairman
256-760-5750
dmitchell@lauderdalecountyal.gov

Danny Pettus
District 1 Rep
256-246-1740
dannypettus@juno.com

Joe Hackworth
District 2 Rep
256-810-8785
joehackworth@nwscc.edu

Roger Garner
District 3 Rep
256-627-7008
ronald1778@att.net

Fay Parker
District 4 Rep
fay.parker@lcschools.org

 

CITY OFFICIALS

Mickey Haddock
Florence City Mayor
256 760-6300
mhaddock@florenceal.org

Dave Smith
District 1 Rep
256 760-6401
dmsmith@florenceal.org

Dick Jordan
District 2 Rep and Council President
256 760-6402
djordan@mjcarterins.com

Hermon Graham
District 3 Rep
256 760-6403
hermon1@comcast.net

Barry Morris
District 4 Rep
256 760-6404
bkmorris@una.edu

Blake Edwards
District 5 Rep
256 760-6405
bedwards@florenceal.org

No comments:

Post a Comment